Ever been crusing around on your LAN and try to delete a folder and get this message:

fileinuse

Windows 7 (and Vista SP1) creates a temporary cache in the networked location for quicker displaying of thumbnails from networked locations. The bad thing is the OS keeps the thumb.db file in use for a short time after you leave the folder so in the chance you may browse back to it shortly it can quickly recall the cache file rather than read all the files and rebuild the icons. The bad thing is when the thumbs.db file is still in lock down mode, you can’t delete or rename folders.

So if your network is fast enough (which most should be for most folder contents) you can disable the network location thumbnail caching by editing the following Group Policy:
– Start, type ‘gpedit.msc’ and hit ENTER.
– Drill down into User Config, Admin Templates, Windows Components, Windows Explorer
– Locate ‘Turn off the caching of thumbnails in hidden thumbs.db files’ and double click on it to edit the policy
– Set the Policy to ‘Enabled’ and click Apply, OK.

That should be it. Now go delete a bunch of stuff.

« »